The Board of Directors of the Cedar Falls Community School District in the County of Black Hawk, State of Iowa, met in special work session pursuant to the laws and rules of said Board at the James L. Robinson Administrative Center, 1002 West First Street, Cedar Falls, Iowa, at 6:30 p.m. The meeting was called to order by the President and the roll being called there were present Deon Senchina in the chair, and the following named Directors: Jim Brown, James Kenyon, Susan Lantz, Jenny Leeper, Joyce Coil and David Williams. Others in attendance were: Douglas Nefzger, Director of Business Affairs, Pam Zeigler, Director of Elementary Education and Dr. Adrian Talbot, Director of Human Resources. Also in attendance: Jon Erickson.

President Senchina called the meeting to order and reported that the business and action to be taken at tonight's meeting will be focused on student achievement.

Item No. 1 – Discussion of Superintendent Search

President Senchina introduced Dr. Richard Sundblad and Dr. Wayne Rand from McPherson & Jacobson, L.L.C. of Omaha, Nebraska. The Board members received information concerning the school and community group input meetings, as well as reviewed major areas under each of the four questions asked during the input meetings. The Board reviewed the following:

- Discussed, critiqued and selected interview questions for the upcoming superintendent candidate interviews.
- Reviewed the interview procedures and itinerary for the day of superintendent candidate interviews.
- Potential superintendent compensation package, including a review of current superintendent salaries for school districts of similar size to Cedar Falls, as well as area and conference school compensation rates.
- Agenda items for the next board meeting with McPherson & Jacobson concerning selection of the final superintendent candidates. This meeting is scheduled for May 16, 2013.

The Board thanked Dr. Sundblad and Dr. Rand for their time this evening.

Item No. 2 - Adjournment

Director Lantz moved and Director Kenyon seconded the motion to adjourn. Directors voting in favor of the motion: Brown, Kenyon, Senchina, Williams, Coil, Lantz and Leeper. Those voting "no" none. Motion carried. The meeting adjourned at 8:35p.m.

Secretary

President