The Board of Directors of the Cedar Falls Community School District in the County of Black Hawk, State of Iowa, met in special work session pursuant to the laws and rules of said Board at the James L. Robinson Administrative Center, 1002 West First Street, Cedar Falls, Iowa, at 4:30 p.m. The meeting was called to order by the President and the roll being called there were present Joyce Coil in the chair, and the following named Directors: Dave Williams, Doug Shaw and Susan Lantz. Others in attendance were: Dr. Andrew Pattee, Superintendent, Douglas Nefzger, Director of Business Affairs and Dr. Adrian Talbot, Director of Human Resources. Also in attendance: Andrew Wind.

President Coil called the meeting to order and reported that we are here to focus on students and student achievement.

## Item No.1 - Approval of Pinnacle Prairie Land Adjustment

Dr. Pattee reviewed the plat for the Pinnacle Prairie subdivision. The final plat for the subdivision shows the boundary line between Cedar Falls and Waterloo Community School Districts dissects five individual lots within that plat. Representatives from the Waterloo Community School District, City of Cedar Falls, Lockard Development (land developer) and Cedar Falls Community School District reviewed the situation and agreed to the following:

- Relocate lots 26 and 38 entirely into the Cedar Falls Community School District.
- Relocate lot 11 entirely into the Waterloo Community School District
- Relocate lots 39 and 40 entirely into the Waterloo Community School District as the vast majority of those lots are already in the Waterloo Community School District.

Dr. Pattee reported this recommendation was brought before the Waterloo Community School District Board of Education and the resolution was approved. It is now brought before the Cedar Falls Community School Board of Education for approval. Upon approval of the Cedar Falls Community School Board of Education the resolution for the boundary line request will go to AEA267 for review. AEA267 has up to thirty days to act upon the request. Upon AEA267's action there is a six month waiting period before the final boundary line adjustment becomes permanent. Dr. Pattee noted that per Iowa Code any changes in boundary lines between school districts can only be done at the July regular school board meeting.

Upon additional discussion, it was moved by Director Lantz and Director Shaw seconded the motion to approve the following joint resolution:

## JOINT RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Cedar Falls and Waterloo share a common boundary line between the two Districts which seriously divides Lots 11, 26, and 38, in Pinnacle Ridge, Cedar Falls, Black Hawk County, Iowa; and

WHEREAS, Lots 39 and 40 in said subdivision are less affected by the common boundary line and are in the Waterloo school boundary by operation of law; and

WHEREAS, Sections 274.4, 274.5, and 274.37, Code of Iowa, provide for concurrent action by the respective Boards to change a common boundary line by agreement; and

WHEREAS, the respective Boards of Cedar Falls and Waterloo wish to alter the common boundary line between the Districts to the extent necessary to include Lots 26 and 38 in the Cedar Falls school boundary and Lot 11 in the Waterloo school boundary, all of same in Pinnacle Ridge, Cedar Falls, Black Hawk County, lowa, as shown on attached Exhibit "A", which by this reference is made a part hereof; and

WHEREAS, the Districts wish to adopt this Joint Resolution to accomplish the foregoing.

THEREFORE, be it jointly resolved by the Boards of Directors of Cedar Falls and Waterloo that the common boundary line between the two Districts is changed to the extent necessary to include in their entirety Lots 26 and 38, Pinnacle Ridge, Cedar Falls, Black Hawk County, Iowa, in the Cedar Falls school boundary and Lot 11, Pinnacle Ridge, Cedar Falls,

Black Hawk County, Iowa, in the Waterloo school boundary, all as set forth on attached Exhibit "A" and according to Sections 274.4, 274.5, and 274.37, Code of Iowa. Lots 39 and 40 in said subdivision shall remain in the Waterloo school boundary. The Secretaries of the respective Boards are directed to file a written description of this change with the Auditor of Black Hawk County, Iowa, pursuant to Section 274.4, Code of Iowa. The Secretaries of the respective Districts shall also provide notice to Area Education Agency 267 pursuant to Section 274.37 Code of Iowa.

Directors voting in favor of the motion: Coil, Williams, Shaw and Lantz. Those voting "no" none. Motion carried.

Board of Education Minutes May 6, 2015 Page 2

Item No 2. - Adjournment

Director Brown moved and Director Lantz seconded the motion to adjourn. Directors voting in favor of the motion: Coil, Williams, Shaw and Lantz. Those voting "no" none. Motion carried.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:37 p.m.

Secretary

President