The Board of Directors of the Cedar Falls Community School District in the County of Black Hawk, State of Iowa, met in special session pursuant to the laws and rules of said Board at the City of Cedar Falls City Hall, 220 Clay Street, Cedar Falls, Iowa, at 5:00 p.m. The meeting was called to order by the President and the roll being called there were present Jeff Hassman in the chair, and the following named Directors: Nate Gruber, Susie Hines, R.J. Meyer, Lowell Stutzman, and Joyce Coil by conference call. Others in attendance were: Dr. Andrew Pattee, Superintendent, Pam Zeigler, Associate Superintendent of Instruction/Learning, Denelle Gonnerman, Chief Financial Officer, Dr. Adrian Talbot, Executive Director of Human Resources and Janelle Darst, Director of Communications and Community Relations. Also in attendance: Eric Rosberg, and Amy Kohlhaas.

President Hassman stated that a governmental body may conduct a meeting by electronic means only in circumstances where such a meeting in person is impossible or impractical and only if the governmental body provides public access to the conversation of the meeting to the extent reasonably possible. The place of the meeting is the place in which the communication originates and the minutes of the meeting shall include a statement explaining why the meeting in person was impossible or impractical as pursuant to Iowa Code 21.8. The reason for the meeting being held by electronic means: Board member unable to attend due to travel.

## Item No. 1 – Presentation: English Language Arts:

Superintendent Pattee introduced Eric Rosburg, Associate Director of Instructional Services. Mr. Rosburg presented information specific to the English Language Arts (ELA) anticipated curriculum adoption. Mr. Rosburg reviewed how the committee was formed to include multiple staff members from within the District's buildings and grade levels to review and select the curriculum needed and the costs involved. A timeline was shared specific to ELA K-6 curriculum.

## Item No. 2 - Adjournment

Director Gruber moved and Director Meyer seconded the motion to adjourn. Directors voting in favor of the motion, Coil, Gruber, Hassman, Hines, Meyer, and Stutzman. Those voting "no" none. Motion carried. The meeting adjourned at 5:33 p.m.

Secretary

President