The Board of Directors of the Cedar Falls Community School District in the County of Black Hawk, State of Iowa, met in special work session pursuant to the laws and rules of said Board at the James L. Robinson Administrative Center, 1002 West First Street, Cedar Falls, Iowa, at 5:30 p.m. The meeting was called to order by the President and the roll being called there were present Deon Senchina in the chair, and the following named Directors: Jim Brown, Susan Lantz, Jenny Leeper, David Williams and Joyce Coil. Others in attendance were: Douglas Nefzger, Director of Business Affairs and Dr. Adrian Talbot, Director of Human Resources. Also in attendance: Holly Hudson.

President Senchina called the meeting to order and reported that the business and action to be taken at tonight's meeting will be focused on student achievement.

## Item No. 1 – Review and Approval of Portable Classroom Lease Bids:

Mr. Nefzger reported that due to a typographical error in the posting of the portable classroom lease bids for Hansen Elementary School, the bids approval will be postponed until Wednesday, March 14, 2012.

## Item No. 2 - Superintendent Search Discussion

President Senchina reviewed the itinerary for the upcoming superintendent search. Dr. Talbot provided an update on the group interview questions. President Senchina distributed the qualities of the superintendent candidate, as well as the three qualities of an excellent leader previously agreed upon by the Board. Board members shared and critiqued individual questions that were developed around the desired qualities of the superintendent candidate. After review of the questions board members discussed the logistics of the candidate interview itinerary, including notification of staff and parent groups of the community forum for each candidate. The Board also discussed if candidate interviews with the Board should be held in open or closed session. President Senchina then distributed the guidelines for interviewing job applicants to all board members.

## Item No. 3 – Adjournment

Director Lantz moved and Director Coil seconded the motion to adjourn. Directors voting in favor of the motion: Brown, Coil, Senchina, Williams, Lantz and Leeper. Those voting "no" none. Motion carried. The meeting adjourned at 6:55 p.m.

Secretary

President