The Board of Directors of the Cedar Falls Community School District in the County of Black Hawk, State of Iowa, met in regular session pursuant to the laws and rules of said Board at the James L. Robinson Administrative Center, 1002 West First Street, Cedar Falls, Iowa, at 12:00 p.m. The meeting was called to order by the President and the roll being called there were present Joyce Coil in the chair, and the following named Directors: Jenny Leeper, James Kenyon, Jim Brown, Dave Williams, Doug Shaw and Susan Lantz by electronic means. Others in attendance were: Dr. Andrew Pattee, Superintendent, Douglas Nefzger, Director of Business Affairs, Dan Conrad, Director of Secondary Education and Pam Zeigler, Director of Elementary Education.

President Coil called the meeting to order and reported that we are here to focus on students and student achievement.

President Coil reported a governmental body may conduct a meeting by electronic means only in circumstances where such a meeting in person is impossible or impractical and only if the governmental body provides public access to the conversation of the meeting to the extent reasonably possible. The place of the meeting is the place in which the communication originates and the minutes of the meeting shall include a statement explaining why the meeting in person was impossible or impractical as pursuant to Iowa Code 21.8. The reason for the meeting being held by electronic means is due to out-of-town travel.

## Item No.1 – Teacher Leadership and Compensation Grant Application

Dr. Pattee distributed final information concerning the Teacher Leadership and Compensation Grant application. This application is a culmination of work by the Teacher Leadership Compensation Committee. The committee consists of 7 administrators, 7 teachers and one parent community representative. The grant application is for approximately \$1.5 million annually and expenditures would have no impact on the District's general fund. The grant application is due on October 31, 2014 to the Iowa Department of Education. The Department of Education will notify the District by December 19, 2014 if the grant has been approved.

Dr. Pattee reviewed how the Grant will be disbursed. The final draft of the Teacher Leadership Gran application has communicated to staff throughout the District. A survey of the staff indicated that over 90% of the staff were complimentary and agreed with the final grant plan. A minimum of 25% of all District staff are required to be involved in the Teacher Leadership Grant. Cedar Falls Community School District grant application plan includes the following:

Approximately 165 staff members will receive additional compensation to either be a peer teacher or teacher coach:

- Mentor Teacher: Approximately 30 staff members will teach full or part-time and support the professional development of initial and career building teachers.
- Building Leadership Teams: Approximately 90 staff members who are part of the Building Leadership Teams (BLT) will be compensated for their building leadership and will function as the building transformation team.
- Building Instructional Technology Leaders (BITL): Approximately 45 staff members engage in full time teaching and take part in BITL meetings and leadership in each building.

## Additional full time positions would include:

- Approximately 15 Instructional Coaches that would engage primarily full-time in instructional coaching for staff throughout the District.
- One community partner and STEM facilitator will engage in full time support to build community and business partnerships for classroom support, learning, teaching and staff professional development on workforce needs.
- One curriculum Professional Development Leader will engage full time in the planning, development, and implementation of curriculum and professional development at our buildings, working with instructional coaches, with primarily a secondary focus.

After discussion, Director Leeper moved and Director Brown seconded the motion to approve the Teacher Leadership and Compensation Grant application as presented. Directors voting in favor of the motion: Brown, Coil, Leeper, Kenyon, Williams, Shaw and Lantz. Those voting "no" none. Motion carried.

Page 2
Item No 2. – Adjournment
Director Williams moved and Director Kenyon seconded the motion to adjourn. Directors voting in favor of the motion: Brown, Coil, Leeper, Kenyon, Williams, Shaw and Lantz. Those voting "no" none. Motion carried.
The meeting was adjourned at 12:05 p.m.
Secretary

**Board of Education Minutes** 

October 30, 2014

President