The Board of Directors of the Cedar Falls Community School District in the County of Black Hawk, State of Iowa, met in special work session pursuant to the laws and rules of said Board at the James L. Robinson Administrative Center, 1002 West First Street, Cedar Falls, Iowa, at 8:00 a.m. The meeting was called to order by the President and the roll being called there were present Joyce Coil in the chair, and the following named Directors: Jenny Leeper, Jim Brown, Dave Williams, Doug Shaw and Susan Lantz. Others in attendance were: Dr. Andrew Pattee, Superintendent, Douglas Nefzger, Director of Business Affairs, Dr. Adrian Talbot, Director of Human Resources and Dan Conrad, Director of Secondary Elementary.

President Coil called the meeting to order and reported that we are here to focus on students and student achievement.

Director Kenyon arrived at 8:05 a.m.

Item No.1 - Discussion: Facilities

Dr. Pattee distributed the recommendation from James Seaman, partner with Fielding Nair International. Fielding Nair is recommending phasing the next bond vote by concentrating on the immediate need and capacity issues for elementary students and continue with additional communication to the public and planning for the high school.

Dr. Pattee reported the first meeting towards planning for a potential new high school with high school staff is scheduled for April 17, 2015. The new enrollment study from RSP and Associates reports that the projected student enrollment at Cedar Falls Community School District for the 2022-2023 school year has increased from 5,930 students to 6,141 students. January 2015 is 5,176. Enrollment projections do not include open enrollment out, special education tuition out, or State of Iowa funded four year old preschool students. Dr. Pattee concluded by stating it is his recommendation to phase the facility vote and to move forward with the elementary facility bond vote on June 30, 2015.

Board members discussed the plans for the elementary schools, pros and cons of phasing the vote and communication to the public on the need of the elementary schools, as well as the potential future high school.

Director Shaw departed the meeting at 8:45 a.m.

Director Kenyon departed the meeting at 8:55 a.m.

Item No 2. – Adjournment

Director Brown moved and Director Lantz seconded the motion to adjourn. Directors voting in favor of the motion: Brown, Coil, Leeper, Williams, and Lantz. Those voting "no" none. Motion carried.

The meeting was adjourned at 9:15 a.m.

Secretary

President