The Board of Directors of the Cedar Falls Community School District in the County of Black Hawk, State of Iowa, met in special session pursuant to the laws and rules of said Board at the James L. Robinson Administrative Center, 1002 West First Street, Cedar Falls, Iowa, at 12:30 p.m. The meeting was called to order by the President and the roll being called there were present Joyce Coil in the chair, and the following named Directors: Jeff Hassman, Allan Heisterkamp, Susie Hines, and Jenny Leeper. Others in attendance were: Dr. Pattee, Superintendent, Pam Zeigler, Associate Superintendent of Instruction/Learning, Denelle Gonnerman, Chief Financial Officer, Dr. Adrian Talbot, Executive Director Human Resources and by conference call Tim Clausen, District Attorney.

Item No. 1 – Closed Session of the Board of Education Under Iowa Code Section 21.5(1)(C)

Director Heisterkamp moved and Director Hassman seconded the motion that the Cedar Falls Board of Education enter into closed session to review or to discuss strategy with counsel in matters that are presently in litigation or where litigation is imminent where its disclosure would be likely to prejudice or disadvantage the position of the governmental body in that litigation under the 2011 Code of Iowa 21.5(1)(c).Directors voting in favor of the motion: Coil, Hassman, Heisterkamp, Hines, and Leeper. Those voting "no" none. Motion carried.

Room was cleared at 12:30 p.m.

Board entered closed session at 12:31 p.m.

Mr. Clausen stated "In light of my current commitments and the need to expedite resolution of this matter, it would have been impractical to look for a date when this could be done with me attending in person. Thus, I am appearing via telephone conference."

Board returned to open session at 12:55 p.m.

Item No. 2 - Consideration of any Motions of the Board

Director Hines moved and Director Heisterkamp seconded the motion that the Cedar Falls Board of Education accept the recommended settlement of \$60,000 from the District's Insurance Carrier in order to avoid the additional costs, expenses, and attorney fees and conclude the ongoing litigation with Victoria Platt, Brian Platt and Pamela Platt. Directors voting in favor of the motion: Coil, Hassman, Heisterkamp, Hines, and Leeper. Those voting "no" none. Motion carried.

Item No. 3 - Adjournment

Director Hines moved and Director Leeper seconded the motion to adjourn. Directors voting in favor of the motion: Coil, Hassman, Heisterkamp, Hines, and Leeper. Those voting "no" none. Motion carried. The meeting was adjourned at 12:57p.m.

Secretary

President