The Board of Directors of the Cedar Falls Community School District in the County of Black Hawk, State of Iowa, met in special session pursuant to the laws and rules of said Board at the James L. Robinson Administrative Center, 1002 West First Street, Cedar Falls, Iowa, at 5:30 p.m. The meeting was called to order by the President and the roll being called there were present Deon Senchina in the chair, and the following named Directors: Joyce Coil, Jenny Leeper, Susan Lantz, James Kenyon and Dave Williams. Others in attendance were: Douglas Nefzger, Director of Business Affairs, Dan Conrad, Director of Secondary Education and Student representative Andrew Stensland. Also in attendance: Tina Hinz, Sarah Eastman, Rich Powers, Alison Gowans and Brad Fore.

Director Senchina reported that the business and action to be taken at tonight's meeting will be focused on student achievement.

## Item No. 1 – ICAT Work Session

President Senchina welcomed Kent Pilcher and Richard Parades from Estes Construction. Mr. Pilcher reviewed the keynotes from the April 17, 2013 Board of Education meeting. Mr. Pilcher distributed the steps associated with the process to referendum in a triangle and timeline format. The Board of Education and the team from Estes Construction discussed the process for determining professionals the District will use (master planner and architect), the qualifications required for these professionals and the involvement of the District's facilities committee. The goal is to have an inclusive and thoughtful process.

It is the general consensus of the Board to proceed with the timelines and process of referendum presented. Finalization of the triangle and timeline formats for the process of referendum will be made available to Board members, as well as be placed on the District's website for the public's easy access.

## Item No. 2 – Adjournment

Director Williams moved and Director Kenyon seconded the motion to adjourn. Directors voting in favor of the motion: Lantz, Senchina, Coil, Leeper, Kenyon and Williams. Those voting "no" none. Motion carried. The meeting adjourned at 6:45p.m.

Secretary

President