The Board of Directors of the Cedar Falls Community School District in the County of Black Hawk, State of Iowa, met in special session pursuant to the laws and rules of said Board at the James L. Robinson Administrative Center, 1002 West First Street, Cedar Falls, Iowa, at 6:00 p.m. The meeting was called to order by the President and the roll being called there were present Deon Senchina in the chair, and the following named Directors: David Williams, James Brown, Jenny Leeper, James Kenyon, Susan Lantz and Joyce Coil. Others in attendance were: Dr. David Stoakes, Superintendent, Douglas Nefzger, Director of Business Affairs, Daniel Conrad, Director of Secondary Education and Pam Zeigler, Director of Elementary Education.

President Senchina called the meeting to order and reported that the business and action to be taken at tonight's meeting will be focused on student achievement.

Item No. 1 – Board Work Session

Dr. Stoakes reviewed the recent changes in the Iowa Code concerning the University of Northern Iowa Research and Development School. In specific, Dr. Stoakes reviewed Iowa Code section 256G.1 – Legislative Intent, 256G.3 – Research and Development School Funding, 256G.4 - Research and Development School Governance, 282.18 – Open Enrollment and the Implication for Funding for the Research and Development School and Legislation authorizing funding for Research and Development School infrastructure study.

Due to the changes approved by the Iowa Legislature the District is in need of revising the agreement between the University of Northern Iowa Malcolm Price Laboratory School and the Cedar Falls Community School District for attendance boundaries and provisions for student open enrollment. Dr. Stoakes reviewed the draft proposal of the boundary line study transfer agreement between the District and Malcolm Price Laboratory School. The agreement includes boundary lines defined as follows:

- Starting at Hudson Road and University Avenue, then
- northeast to College Street, then
- south to West 29th Street, then
- south, following Jennings Drive to south Main Street, then
- north to West 14th Street, then
- west to Fairview Cemetery, then
- following the cemetery boundary to south, west and north to West 12th Street, then
- west to Hudson Rd., then
- south to a line extending east from Alden Avenue., then
- west to West 18th Street, then
- east to Hudson Rd., then
- south to University Ave., the starting point.

The new agreement no longer calls for a buffer zone just an overall attendance zone and there are no more exceptions for rural students, except for those that are currently enrolled at Malcolm Price Laboratory School. Dr. Stoakes reviewed the transfer policy provisions within the proposed agreement, including an enrollment application, review and eligibility for criteria, criteria for approval of eligible applicants, late applications, midyear applications, home school students, denial process, approval of applications by Malcolm Price Laboratory School and transfer of students to the District.

Other provisions in the proposed agreement include:

- Communications to the public of the agreement
- District will not provide any transportation to any MPLS students accept for those required by law
- Terms and effective date of the agreement
- Renewal of the agreement.

Item No. 2 – Adjournment

Director Kenyon moved and Director Lantz seconded the motion to adjourn. The work session was adjourned at 6:55 p.m. Directors voting in favor of the motion: Coil, Brown, Leeper, Kenyon, Williams, Senchina, and Lantz. Those voting "no" none. Motion carried.