The Board of Directors of the Cedar Falls Community School District in the County of Black Hawk, State of Iowa, met in special session pursuant to the laws and rules of said Board at the James L. Robinson Administrative Center, 1002 West First Street, Cedar Falls, Iowa, at 6:00 p.m. The meeting was called to order by the President and the roll being called there were present Deon Senchina in the chair, and the following named Directors: James Kenyon, Jenny Leeper, Joyce Coil, Jim Brown and Dave Williams. Others in attendance were: Douglas Nefzger, Director of Business Affairs and Dan Conrad, Director of Secondary Education. Also in attendance: Jason Wedgbury, Peet Junior High Principal, John Larson, Attorney for the Board, Tim Luce, Neil Moses, Step-father of Student A, Mother of Student A, and Jeff Devine.

Item No. 1 – Closed Session of the Board of Education Under Iowa Code Section 21.5(e)

Director Coil moved and Director Kenyon seconded the motion to move that the Cedar Falls Board of Education enter into closed session to discuss whether to conduct a hearing or to conduct hearings to suspend or expel a student, unless an open session is requested by the student or a parent or guardian of the student, if the student is a minor as provided under the 2009 Code of Iowa 21.5 (e). Directors voting in favor of the motion: Leeper, Kenyon, Coil, Williams, Brown, and Senchina. Those voting "no" none. Motion carried.

Board room cleared at 6:08 p.m.

Board entered closed session at 6:08 p.m.

Board returned to open session at 8:07p.m.

<u>Item No. 2 – Approval of Recommendation for Exclusion of Student A</u>

Director Kenyon moved and Director Brown seconded the motion to postpone the hearing decision to a later date in order for the Administration to further review the facts involved in the case. Directors voting in favor of the motion: Coil, Leeper, Williams, Brown, Senchina, and Kenyon. Those voting "no" none. Motion carried.

Item No. 3 – Adjournment

Director Coil moved and Director Kenyon seconded the motion to adjourn. Directors voting in favor of the motion: Williams Coil, Leeper, Kenyon, Brown and Senchina. Those voting "no" none. Motion carried.

Meeting	adjourned	at	8:08	p.m
---------	-----------	----	------	-----

5	Secretary		