The Board of Directors of the Cedar Falls Community School District in the County of Black Hawk, State of Iowa, met in work session pursuant to the laws and rules of said Board at the James L. Robinson Administrative Center, 1002 West First Street, Cedar Falls, Iowa, at 9:30 a.m. The meeting was called to order by the President and the roll being called there were present James Kenyon in the chair, and the following named Directors: Jeff Hassman, Susie Hines, Susan Lantz and Doug Shaw. Others in attendance were: Dr. Andy Pattee, Superintendent, Pam Zeigler, Director of Elementary Education, Dan Conrad, Director of Secondary Education, Dr. Adrian Talbot, Director of Human Resources and Douglas Nefzger, Board Secretary. Administrators in attendance, Jen Hartman, Bill Boevers, Kim Cross, Brian Ortman, Dana Deines, Dave Hlas, Tara Estep, Troy Becker, Gary Koenen, Andrea Christopher, Ralph Bryant, Jeremy Jones, Dave Meyer, Deb Beving and Dave Welter. Also in attendance: Christine Mangrich, Janelle Darst, Jill White and Brian Unruh.

Director Lantz moved and Director Shaw seconded the motion to approve the June 8, 2016 board agenda as presented. Directors voting in favor of the motion: Hassman, Hines, Kenyon, Lantz, and Shaw. Those voting "no" none. Motion carried.

District Overview

Mr. Conrad, Director of Secondary Education and Ms. Zeigler, Director of Elementary Education presented on the following:

- District wide proficiency data in reading, math and science in grade 3 through 11 for the 2015-2016 school year.
- Overall percentage of growth for students in grades 3 thru 11, as well as typical growth in reading, math and science.
- Culture and climate goals
- Reviewed Professional Learning Communities goals including:
 - a. Common formative and summative assessments
 - b. Sequence the content of the course and establish pacing guides (essential learning)

Ms. Zeigler provided an update on District school in need of assistance (SINA) and District in need of assistance (DINA).

Individual Reports on Elementary and Secondary Buildings

School principals presented and reported on the following for their individual buildings:

- Reading, math and science goals
- Professional Learning Community learning goals
- Culture and climate goals
- Character education activities
- Student proficiency data in reading, math and science
- Extra-curricular/after school activity participation
- Secondary student enrichment programming
- Junior High ECHOES program participation
- Secondary Tiger Time/Power Hour activities
- Planning/goal setting for 2016/17 school year
- Individual school success stories & celebrations

Technology Update

Brian Unruh, Coordinator of Instructional Technology and Christine Mangrich, Coordinator of Instructional Services provided an update on the following:

- 1. Using data to help impact student learning
- 2. District goals expected growth in content areas
- 3. Student data information:
 - Student accessing and creating Google files (data usage)
 - Accessing and using student learning management system (Schoology)
 - Student survey on the use of technology (Clarity/BrightBytes)

Board of Education Minutes June 8, 2016 Page 2

- Teacher support and professional development opportunities
- Quality of teacher support and professional development opportunities (BITL team)
- Collaboration & Communication
- Student engagement data (IPT & IPI-T)
- How technology is used by students

Mr. Unruh briefly reviewed the District's new student information management system software transition.

Ms. Darst, Coordinator of Communications & Community Relations provided an update on the District's new website. The website will go live July 2016.

Dr. Pattee recognized Mr. Welter and Mrs. Beving for their service to the District upon their retirement.

Board members thanked building principals and directors for all their work and dedication.

Adjournment

Director Hassman moved and Director Lantz seconded the motion to adjourn. Directors voting in favor of the motion: Hassman, Hines, Kenyon, Lantz and Shaw. Those voting "no" none. Motion carried. Meeting adjourned at 12:11 p.m.

Secretary

President