The Board of Directors of the Cedar Falls Community School District in the County of Black Hawk, State of Iowa, met in special session pursuant to the laws and rules of said Board at the James L. Robinson Administrative Center, 1002 West First Street, Cedar Falls, Iowa, at 5:30 p.m. The meeting was called to order by the President and the roll being called there were present Deon Senchina in the chair, and the following named Directors: Jim Brown, James Kenyon, Joyce Coil, Jenny Leeper and Dave Williams. Others in attendance were: Dr. David Stoakes, Superintendent, Douglas Nefzger, Director of Business Affairs, Dan Conrad, Director of Secondary Education, John Larson, attorney for the Board and Jason Wedgbury, Principal at Peet Junior High.

Director Senchina reported that the business and action to be taken at tonight's meeting will be focused on student achievement.

Item No. 1 – Closed Session of the Board of Education Under Iowa Code Section 21.5(a)

Director Coil moved and Director Leeper seconded the motion to move that the Cedar Falls Board of Education enter into closed session to review or discuss records which are required or authorized by state or federal law to be kept confidential or to be kept confidential as a condition for that governmental body's possession or continued receipt of federal funds 2009 Code of Iowa 21.5 (a). Directors voting in favor of the motion: Brown, Senchina, Coil, Kenyon, Leeper and Williams. Those voting "no" none. Motion carried.

Board room cleared at 5:32 p.m.

Board entered closed session at 5:32 p.m.

Board returned to open session at 6:02 p.m.

Item No. 2 – Approval of Board Recommendation

Director Kenyon moved and Director Coil seconded the motion that the Cedar Falls Board of Education admit Student A to the Behavioral Intervention Center effective October 4, 2011 through October 21, 2011. Student A and the guardian of Student A will be required to appear before the Cedar Falls Community Schools Board of Education before returning to a regular educational setting. Directors voting in favor of the motion: Brown, Coil, Kenyon, Leeper, Williams and Senchina. Those voting "no" none. Motion carried.

<u>Item No. 3 – Adjournment</u>

Director Coil moved and Director Brown seconded the motion to adjourn. Directors voting in favor of the motion: Brown, Coil, Leeper, Kenyon, Williams and Senchina. Those voting "no" none. Motion carried. The meeting adjourned at 6:04 p.m.

Secretary