The Board of Directors of the Cedar Falls Community School District in the County of Black Hawk, State of Iowa, met in regular session pursuant to the laws and rules of said Board at the James L. Robinson Administrative Center, 1002 West First Street, Cedar Falls, Iowa, at 7:00 p.m. The meeting was called to order by the President and the roll being called there were present Deon Senchina in the chair, and the following named Directors: David Williams, Jenny Leeper, James Kenyon, Susan Lantz and Joyce Coil. Others in attendance were: Dr. David Stoakes, Superintendent, Douglas Nefzger, Director of Business Affairs, Daniel Conrad, Director of Secondary Education, Pam Zeigler, Director of Elementary Education and Dr. Adrian Talbot, Director of Human Resources. Also in attendance were David Tallakson, Stephanie Itzen, Kristi Anhalt, Lisa Newgard, Jane Harding, Kim Traw, and Brian Sanderman.

President Senchina called the meeting to order and reported that the business and action to be taken at tonight's meeting will be focused on student achievement.

<u>Item No. 1 – Approval of the Following Consent Agenda Items:</u>

Director Coil moved and Director Leeper seconded the motion the Board approves the following items:

- 1. The consent agenda of the October 31, 2011 Board of Education meeting with the exception of the Frontline Technologies AESOP Customer agreement.
- 2. Approval of the October 10th work session, October 10th regular session, October 20th and 25th closed session Board of Education meeting minutes as presented.
- 3. Approval of the bills as presented for payment as reviewed by the designated Board member, Jim Brown
- 4. Auction items for November 12, 2011 auction
- 5. Quarterly Transportation report
- 6. Sharing agreement with Malcolm Price Laboratory School middle school wrestling
- 7. Approval open enrollment requests
- 8. Approval of Contracts:
 - a. Struxture Architecture: Southdale, Hansen, and North Cedar projects
 - b. Trademark License agreement K-Mart Stores, Inc. on University Ave, Waterloo, IA
 - c. Preschool Partner agreements

Open Enrollment Report October 31, 2011

Nikki Lang 9th Grade

Current resident district: Cedar Falls

District requested:

Effective date:

Janesville Consolidated
2011-2012 – C

Paden Lang 7th Grade

Current resident district:

District requested:

Cedar Falls

Janesville Consolidated

Effective date: 2011-2012 – C

Directors voting in favor of the motion: Senchina, Coil, Williams, Kenyon, Lantz, and Leeper. Those voting "no" none. Motion carried.

Dr. Stoakes reviewed the agreement between Frontline Technologies and the school district. Frontline Technologies is a software company that offers the AESOP automated employee substitute calling system. Dr. Stoakes briefly outlined the features of the system, including the availability for employees to be able to see their leave balances at any time. After discussion, Director Williams moved and Director Kenyon seconded the motion to approve the agreement with Frontline Technologies as presented. Directors voting in favor of the motion: Senchina, Coil, Williams, Kenyon, Lantz, and Leeper. Those voting "no" none. Motion carried.

Item No. 2 – Communications

Board of Education Minutes October 31, 2011 Page 2

Item No. 3 - Approval of Malcolm Price Laboratory School Boundary Line Transfer Agreement

Dr. Stoakes reviewed the Malcolm Price Laboratory boundary agreement between Malcolm Price Laboratory School and the Cedar Falls Community School District as required by Chapter 256G of the Code of Iowa. Director Kenyon moved and Director Lantz seconded the motion to approve the agreement as presented. Directors voting in favor of the motion: Senchina, Coil, Williams, Kenyon, Lantz, and Leeper. Those voting "no" none. Motion carried.

Item No. 4 – Approval of Plans, Specifications and Set Public Hearing Date for the High School Window Project

Mr. Nefzger introduced Brian Sanderman from Invision Architecture. Mr. Sanderman reviewed the plans and specifications of the High School westside window project. The project will include replacement of windows on the west side of the west three story section of the High School and two sets of doors and a couple of windows on the east side of the west wing of the High School. Total estimated cost for the project including replacement of the windows and doors is \$290,000. Director Coil moved and Director Kenyon seconded the motion to approve the proposed plans, specifications, proposed form of contract and set December 12, 2011 at 7:00 p.m. as the date and time to hold a public hearing for the High School west side window replacement project. Directors voting in favor of the motion: Senchina, Coil, Williams, Kenyon, Lantz, and Leeper. Those voting "no" none. Motion carried.

<u>Item No. 5 – Informational report: Library/Media</u>

David Tallakson, Media Specialist at Southdale Elementary and Kim Traw, Media Specialist at the High School reviewed the Library Media Department within the Cedar Falls Community Scholl District. The school district currently has ten teacher librarians, one at each elementary, one at each Jr. High and two at the High School. Teacher Librarians are involved in:

- 1. Reading, selecting, cataloging and promoting books
- 2. Promoting the Iowa book award program
- 3. Supporting all curriculum areas with reading materials and offering assistance to classroom teachers in choosing books for their classrooms
- 4. Maintaining the K-12 information literacy curriculum
- 5. Integrating skills in all curricular areas
- 6. Iowa Core Curriculum for social studies, science, English, math and reading
- 7. Technology skills: Technology coaches in each individual school building as well as technology trainers.
- 8. Maintain inventory and equipment and are the link between staff, student and the informational technology services department.
- 9. Professional Learning Communities and hold leadership roles throughout the District.

Board members thanked Mr. Tallakson and Ms. Traw for their time and effort in their presentation.

Item No. $6-$	Questions,	Comments,	ana	Concerns
	-			

None

<u>Item No. 7 – Adjournment</u>

Director Kenyon moved and Director Lantz seconded the motion to adjourn. Directors voting in favor of the motion: Williams, Kenyon, Senchina, Leeper, Lantz, and Coil. Those voting "no" none. Motion carried. The meeting was adjourned at 8:03 p.m.

	Secretary	
President		