The Board of Directors of the Cedar Falls Community School District in the County of Black Hawk, State of Iowa, met in work session pursuant to the laws and rules of said Board at the James L. Robinson Administrative Center, 1002 West First Street, Cedar Falls, Iowa, at 9:30 a.m. The meeting was called to order by the President and the roll being called there were present Joyce Coil in the chair, and the following named Directors: Jeff Hassman, Jeff Orvis, Sasha Wohlpart, Jenny Leeper and Eric Giddens. Others in attendance were: Dr. Andy Pattee, Superintendent, Dan Conrad, Director of Secondary Education, and Dr. Adrian Talbot, Director of Human Resources. Administrators in attendance, Bill Boevers, Kim Cross, Brian Ortman, Dana Deines, Tara Estep, Ethan Wiechmann, Andrea Christopher, Ralph Bryant, Jeremy Jones, Katherine Johnson, Jason Strub, Justin Urbanek, Savannah Swestka, Eric Rosberg and Jason Wedgbury. Also in attendance: Christine Mangrich, Janelle Darst, Jill White, and Brian Unruh.

<u>Item No. 1 – Appointment of Acting Board Secretary</u>

Director Hassman moved and Director Orvis seconded the motion to appoint Dr. Adrian Talbot as Acting Board Secretary. Directors voting in favor of the motion: Coil, Giddens, Hassman, Orvis, Wohlpart, Leeper and Giddens. Those voting "no" none. Motion carried.

Item No. 2 - Individual Reports and Building Presentations on Elementary and Secondary Buildings

School principals presented and reported on the following for their individual buildings:

- Culture and climate goals
- Academic achievement goals
- Professional Learning Community goals
- Individual points of pride and celebrations

Item No. 3- Technology Update

Brian Unruh, Coordinator of Instructional Technology provided an update on:

- Planning for the implementation of PK-12 Computer Science
- The addition of E-Sports to the Extra Curricula Activities Program
- Online registration: the tentative time line for opening and closing online registration for 2019-20 was discussed

<u>Item No. 4 – Forum with Local Legislators</u>

President Coil reminded the group about the forum to be held with local legislators at Peet Jr. High School at 4:15 p.m. on January 9, 2019 and encouraged attendance.

<u>Item No. 5 - Adjournment</u>

Director Hassman moved and Director Orvis seconded the motion to adjourn. D	irectors voti	ng in favor of
the motion: Coil, Giddens, Hassman, Orvis, Leeper and Wohlpart. Those voting	"no" none.	Motion carried.
Meeting adjourned at 12:20 p.m.		

	Acting Secretary	
President		