The Board of Directors of the Cedar Falls Community School District in the County of Black Hawk, State of Iowa, met in special work session pursuant to the laws and rules of said Board at the James L. Robinson Administrative Center, 1002 West First Street, Cedar Falls, Iowa, at 7:30 a.m. The meeting was called to order by the President and the roll being called there were present Deon Senchina in the chair, and the following named Directors: Joyce Coil, Susan Lantz present and Jenny Leeper, David Williams and Jim Brown present by teleconference. Others in attendance were: Douglas Nefzger, Director of Business Affairs. Also in attendance: Amelia Dimitrova and Emily Christensen.

A governmental body may conduct a meeting by electronic means only in circumstances where such a meeting in person is impossible or impractical and only if the governmental body provides public access to the conversation of the meeting to the extent reasonably possible. The place of the meeting is the place in which the communication originates and the minutes of the meeting shall include a statement explaining why a meeting in person was impossible or impractical as pursuant to Iowa Code 21.8. The reason for the meeting done by electronic mean is due to out of town travel.

## <u>Item No. 1 – Approval of New Superintendent Contract</u>

President Senchina distributed the key contract provisions for the salary package being offered to Mr. Mike Wells, who will begin as the new superintendent of schools beginning July 1, 2012. The provisions of the contract are for one year and are as follows:

• 2012-2013 Salary: \$180,000

• Insurance: Standard Administrative insurance package

Vacation: 20 daysPersonal days: 2Holidays: 10 paid days

• Leaves of absence: Per district practice for non-bargaining unit employees

• Professional and Civic organization(s): Dues and fees

• Moving expense: Up to \$5,000

Director Brown moved and Director Coil seconded the motion to approve and issue Mr. Mike Wells a contract as Superintendent of Schools for the Cedar Falls Community School District for the 2012-2013 school year per the terms stated above. Directors voting in favor of the motion: Senchina, Brown, Coil, Leeper, Kenyon, Lantz and Williams. Those voting "no" none. Motion carried.

## Item No. 2- Adjournment

Director Coil moved and Director Lantz seconded the motion to adjourn. Directors voting in favor of the motion: Brown, Coil, Senchina, Williams, Lantz and Leeper. Those voting "no" none. Motion carried. The meeting adjourned at 7:35 p.m.

	Secretary	
President		