The Board of Directors of the Cedar Falls Community School District in the County of Black Hawk, State of Iowa, met in work session pursuant to the laws and rules of said Board at the City of Cedar Falls City Hall, 220 Clay Street, Cedar Falls, Iowa, at 5:00 p.m. The meeting was called to order by the President and the roll being called there were present Joyce Coil in the chair, and the following named Directors: Eric Giddens, Jeff Hassman, Susie Hines, Jenny Leeper, Jeff Orvis and Sasha Wohlpart. Others in attendance were: Dr. Andrew Pattee, Superintendent, Douglas Nefzger, Director of Business Affairs, Daniel Conrad, Director of Secondary Education, Dr. Adrian Talbot, Director of Human Resources, and Pam Zeigler, Director of Elementary Education.

President Coil called the meeting to order and reported that we are here to focus on students and student achievement

Board members shared their thoughts and highlights from the Iowa Association School Boards (IASB) convention held November 15-16, 2017.

Board members shared the following thoughts and highlights from the convention including:

- Familiarization with the Iowa Association of School Boards
- Shared Board vision
- Communication with the public
- Promise Iowa
- Presentations by Steve Pemberton and Michael Fullan
- Superintendent evaluation
- School benchmarking
- Legislative communication/talking points
- Attracting and attaining high quality staff

After a discussion, Director Hassman moved and Director Hines seconded the motion to adjourn. Directors voting in favor of the motion: Coil, Giddens, Hassman, Hines, Leeper, Orvis and Wohlpart. Those voting "no" none. Motion carried. The meeting was adjourned at 5:28 p.m.

	Board Secretary	
Board President		